Project Office (PO)
Members’ General Assembly (MGA)
Steering Committee (SC)
Advisory Committees (AC)
European Commission and Project Officer (EC)

Project Office
The Coordinator, Sevil Sümer, is the head of the Project Office,which is located at the Stein Rokkan Centre for Social Studies. She is responsible for the day-to-day management of the FEMCIT IP, and liaises with the European Commission on behalf of the coordinating institution (UiB), the Scientific Director and the rest of the consortium. She works closely with the administrative project manager Siren Høgtun. The project office also consists of Scientific Director Beatrice Halsaa, Centre for Gender Research, University of Oslo. She will act as the overall scientific leader for the project. Solveig Bergman, Nordic Gender Institute, and Sasha Roseneil, Birkbeck, University of London are Deputy Directors. They all play a major part in the planning and running of the project.


Members’ General Assembly (MGA)
The Member’s General Assembly (MGA) is the overall decisive body of the consortium, and constitutes of one representative from each of all contractors brought into the project during its lifetime. At annual meetings the MGA gives scientific advice to the Steering Committee on the most important and principal issues of the project. The MGA is responsible for all major formal decisions regarding project strategy, eventual amendments to the project work description (Annex I of the contract), the consortium agreement, and decision on allocation of the project’s budget in accordance with the contract, and any entry of new contractors.

Each contracting institution has appointed one senior representative to attend the meetings of the assembly, who is authorised to make decisions concerning the project on behalf of the institution. The representatives are senior scientific persons who know the field of research and have the necessary experience and qualifications to take decisions on major scientific, financial and administrative issues, as well as decisions on use and exploitations of results. A deputy representative from each institution may be appointed. Decisions in the MGA needs 75% of the votes present at the meeting.

The MGA will act upon proposals from the Steering Committee and decide on the following issues:

  • Any major change in scientific plans relative to the initial agreed implementation plan
  • Any major reallocation of budget between partners
  • Any alterations of the consortium agreement
  • The acceptance of new contractors as well as any exclusion of contractors
  • Any premature completion or termination of the project

All contracting institutions will be responsible for:

  • Selecting one authorised representative who has the necessary scientific competence to act in the MGA – usually the contractor’s responsible scientist.
  • Allocating the necessary administrative, scientific and financial resources necessary to carry out the share of the project contracted to them.


Steering Committee (SC)
The Steering Committee takes decisions on scientific management, and prepares and advice on the overall scientific policy, direction of management of the project to be decided by the MGA. It meets twice a year and is chaired by the Scientific Director Beatrice Halsaa. In cases of even vote numbers, the Scientific Director has a casting vote. In addition to the meetings, telephone conferences will be arranged if requested by Scientific Director or more than two members. All communication with the MGA will normally be through the Project Office. The Steering Committee comprises of the Work Package leaders, the Scientific Director, the Scientific Deputy-Directors and the Coordinator. The responsibility of the SC includes:

  • Assessing scientific progress against the objectives
  • Handeling issues or problems relating to the progress towards the fulfilment of scientific objectives
  • Approving all reports and plans to the EC (the 12 months reports to the EC, 18 months implementation plans and final report)
  • Providing advice on any call for and evaluation of new contractors, participants or partners that might be needed to finalise the project objectives
  • Approve Dissemination Plans and Knowledge Management Plans
  • Liaising with the external advisory committee and approving of any recommendations from them
  • Giving recommendations to the Project Office (PO) on any scientific aspects they foresee requires ethical considerations
  • Forward issues, which needs to be decided by the Member’s General Assembly (see above)

The WP leaders which constitutes the SC are: Line Nyhagen Predelli, Nicky Le Feuvre, Sasha Roseneil, Solveig Bergman, Monica Threllfall,  Sevil Sümer (not in the picture), Beatrice Halsaa and Joyce Outshoorn.

Advisory Committees

External Advisory Committee
Members: Myra Marx Ferree, Keiko Funabashi, Jeff Hearn, Gail Lewis, Gretchen Ritter and Chunghee Sarah Soh

This group of independent international experts provide technical, scientific and practical advice to the project. The function of the External Advisory Committee is:

  • Advising on the project’s scientific approach and orientation
  • Providing a link to related activities
  • Making recommendations for new actions and activities in the area of gendered citizenship

Knowledge Management and Dissemination Committee
Members: Sevil Sümer (leader), Beatrice Halsaa, Sasha Roseneil, Solveig Bergman, Monica Threlfall, Joyce Outshoorn, Line N. Predelli, Nicky Le Feuvre, Malgorzata Fuszara, Teresa Kulawik, Anne-Jorunn Berg, Drude Dahlerup, Celia Valiente, Hana Haskova, Sabine Strasser, Hilda Rømer Christensen, madeleine kennedy-macfoy, Lenita Freidenvall and Elisabet Ljunggren.

This committee, consisting of internal partners, monitors and gives recommendations to the Steering Committee on priorities for protection of knowledge and the dissemination activities. It is responsible for the development of the Dissemination Plan and Knowledge Management Plan. It will also be central in developing any needed amendments in the Consortium Agreement. The committee meets annually at project meetings and more frequently by telephone conference upon request from Project Office. The committee was appointed by the MGA at the kick-off meeting for FEMCIT, and in the Istanbul meeting in 2009 it was extended to comprise the current members.

Gender Panel
Anne-Jorunn Berg (leader), Hilda Rømer Christensen, Teresa Kulawik and Sabine Strasser.

This panel is responsible for the FEMCIT gender action plan. It makes recommendations on relevant gender issues related to the recruitment of FEMCIT staff and to the overall research process. This panel was appointed by the MGA at the kick-off meeting.

European Commission and Project Officer
FEMCIT is funded through the call “Citizens and Governance” under EU′s sixth Framework Programme, FP6, and is a project under EU′s Directorate-General for Research, Directorate L, Science, economy and society, Unit L.04, Scientific culture and gender issues.

Simona Ardovino is EU′s Scientific Project Officer of FEMCIT.

The Scientific Officers only answers communication directly from the Coordinator, so if you have questions, please raise them through the Coordinators Office.